APE – the Asperger Parenting Experience

The Life and Times of one Asperger Parent

Asperger’s Syndrome and its Companions

Posted by Patrick on 28 January 2008

Hello parents. Today I want to talk about something a little less parent-focused and a little more diagnosis-based. I promise not to diverge from my own experiences and advice too often, but I will share some personal experiences in this post as well.

It’s commonly-held that Asperger’s Syndrome is rarely alone in the mind of a child. Often, AS is either mistaken for some other condition, or it is properly diagnosed and later discovered to also be symbiotic with another psychological/genetic/emotional/otherwise distressing condition. Briefly, I want to touch on what these are. Parents, this isn’t to increase your level of paranoia; I’m going after awareness, I promise.

This information is transcluded from aspergers.com, a publicly-available website offering this information at no charge.

Asperger’s Disorder may not be the only psychological condition affecting a certain individual. In fact, it is frequently together with other problems such as:

* Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
* Oppositional Defiant Disorder (ODD)
* Depression (Major Depressive Disorder or Adjustment Disorder with Depressed Mood)
* Bipolar Disorder
* Generalized Anxiety Disorder
* Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Most likely, you believe your AS child has ADHD or OCD unless their particular case makes them especially sedentary. I’ve believed that my AS son has ADHD for quite awhile, yet he has been successful in school once he learns the routines of attending. The truth is that it takes a medical professional (in many cases a developmental pediatrician specializing in psychological disorders) to accurately diagnose any of these conditions. The one exception to that statement is ODD, which is actually a behavioral condition rather than a psychological disorder.

What should we do as parents? I recommend some research; use this Internet – that’s what it’s there for. Secondly, I recommend you discuss all of your concerns with your child’s pediatrician. Chances are that if you’re battling AS at home, you’ve already done this. After that, reach out and ask for others to share their experiences. That is the purpose of this blog, and I hope that others can benefit from what I place here. So you all know, I normally have my AS son with me when I am posting in this blog since he is infatuated with computers; he is a constant inspiration for me to provide genuine life experiences.

I’ll be posting about something more close to home next time.

One Response to “Asperger’s Syndrome and its Companions”

  1. awalkabout said

    I agree that often these separate tags seem to all appear under the Asperger’s umbrella. Our son has Asperger’s, but his father and brother both have ADD, so we had originally treated him with some various ADD meds, hoping to help him focus. Well, what we got was a never-ending round of tics that continue to cycle to this day, long after the meds were stopped for not being of use. The school is focused on dealing with the ADD-type behaviors (disorganization, need for visual schedule, constant reminders) as part of his autistic support. We also see Reactive-Attachment Disorder behaviors as well, stealing food, testing, etc., which is not on your list. It’s always something new. 🙂

    babs

Leave a Reply

 
