APE – the Asperger Parenting Experience

The Life and Times of one Asperger Parent

What is your AS child’s anthem?

Posted by Patrick on 30 November 2007

I’ve found that lots of AS children have an affinity for music, specifically drumming, because it is a motor skill that they can be good at even by approximating movements.  My AS son is a die-hard fan of the Blue Man Group – when their music is playing everyone has to be quiet so he can hear it well enough to air-drum along (the same is true with guitar hero 3 – he likes about 5 songs on that game that he will air-drum for the whole song).  But BMG is by far his favorite music.

If you’re not familiar with BMG, go onto youtube and look for a video of Tracy Bonham and/or BMG doing a song called “Up to the Roof”.  This is a good one that’s live.  Somehow, my son who is 4 years old understand this song, and it is now his “anthem”.  Considering the challenge of being a kid with AS, I think it’s appropriate.  The lyrics are below; what do you think?  What is your AS child’s personal anthem?

 

All I see is not for me.
What I want you have not got.

Tried to use things you sold me, no matter what the cost
Tried to go the way you told me, but each time, I got lost
The stairs didn’t lead me anywhere!

I’m taking the fire escape up to the roof.
Don’t care if it’s not the way you find the truth.
Time to make this right: to rise above.

This room and all of you
Who say I should do like you would
Tried to live the life you sold me, no matter what the cost.
Tried to walk the way you told me, but each time I got lost
The stairs didn’t lead me anywhere!

I’m taking the fire escape up to the roof.
Don’t care if it’s not the way you find the truth
And when I get up that high, I don’t know what I’ll find
But I’d rather look at the sky than wonder why I let you take my time
Time to make this right: to rise above.

I’m taking the fire escape up to the roof.
Don’t care if it’s not the way you find the truth
And when I get up that high, I don’t know what I’ll find
But I’d rather look at the sky than wonder why I let you take my time.
Time to make this right: to rise above.
Time to make this right: to rise above

One Response to “What is your AS child’s anthem?”

  1. aspismamman said

    That’s a very good AS anthem! Our 6-year-old daughter who was recently diagnosed with AS isn’t that fond of music. I will continue to read here now. Thanks for your blog! :o)

Leave a Reply

 
